An external Stakeholder Steering Committee (SSC) has been appointed in 2015 by the LANDMARK Consortium. This SSC will meet annually with LANDMARK consortium to oversee progress, facilitate a two-way flow of communication between LANDMARK and external stakeholders and ensure that project outcomes are relevant and ‘embedded’ in the stakeholder community.  The external stakeholders will continue to participate in a process of ‘shared learning’ at the 12-monthly LANDMARK Roundtables ( generally every May). This means that the SSC members will be asked to participate in workshops that are relevant to their organization and expertise.
Alexandre Berndt
Alexandre BerndtEMBRAPA


EMBRAPA, Empresa Brasileira de Pesquisa Agropecuaria, Sustainable Production Systems, Southeast Livestock, Rod Washington Luiz, km 234, PO Box 339, 13560-970 Sao Carlos, Sao Paulo, Brazil
more details

Annette Schneegans
Annette SchneegansDG-Agriculture


European Commission, DG-Agriculture and Rural Development, Brussels, Belgium

Ciro Gardi
Ciro GardiEFSA


European Food Safety Institute (EFSA), Animal and Plant Health (Alpha), Via Carlo Magno 1A, 43126 Parma – ITALY

Edgars Linde
Edgars LindeEUFRAS


EUFRAS, Latvian Rural Advisory Service, Rigas iela 34, Ozolnieki. Ozolnieku pagasts, Ozolnieku novads, LV-3018, Latvija

Evangelos Koumentakos
Evangelos KoumentakosCOPA-COGECA


COPA-COGECA, Rue de Trèves 61, 1040 Brussels

Harald Mauser
Harald MauserEuropean Forest Institute


European Forest Institute (EFI), Brussels Liaison office, 66, Rue du Luxembourg, 1000, Brussels, Belgium

Josiane Masson
Josiane MassonDG-Environment


European Commission, DG Environment, Unit ENV.D.1, Land use & Management Unit, BU-5 5/178, B-1049 Brussels, Belgium

John Muldowney
John MuldowneyNational Authority


Dept of Agriculture, Food & the Marine (DAFM), Grattan Business center, Portlaoise, Ireland

Alfred Grand
Alfred GrandFarmer


Kremserstr. 63, A-3462 Absdorf, AUSTRIA

Ralph Gockel
Ralph GockelLocal Chamber of Agriculture


Chamber of Agriculture of Rhineland-Palatinate Burgenlandstraße 7, 55543 Bad Kreuznach, Germany

Lucrezia Caon
Lucrezia CaonFAO - Global Soil Partnership


FAO, Land and Water Division, Global Soil Partnership Secretariat, Viale delle Terme di caracalla, 00153 Rome, Italy

Karl Ritz
Karl RitzScience


Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, University of Nottingham, Sutton Bonington Campus, Loughborough, Leicestershire LE12 5RD, UK

Alice Cerutti
Alice CeruttiFarmer


Cascina Oschiena
Strada Oschiena-Tabalino 13040
Crova, Vercelli, Italy


Rainer Baritz
Rainer BaritzEuropean Environment Agency & EIONET representative


European Environment Agency
Kongens Nytorv 6
DK-1050 Copenhagen

Hedwig van Delden
Hedwig van DeldenSOILCARE H2020 project representative


Research Institute for Knowledge Systems (RIKS)
Hertogsingel 11B, 6211 NC Maastricht
The Netherlands

The SCC members met for the first time past November 2015 in Rouen, France for the LANDMARK Roundtable2 and learnt about LANDMARK through a series of shared learning events. The SCC has been invited to focus on their role and responsibilities towards LANDMARK project and to reflect how they could contribute on the project with their expertise, outcome of this meeting is a two pages Feedback report. The second meeting that the SSC members attended was Roundtable n3 in Godollo, Hungary where the members had the occasion to review the work done between winter 2015 and spring 2016 and steer the 2016-2017 project activities. The product of this review was the Second SSC feedback report. The third meeting attended by 11 of the 15 SSC members attended was Roundtable n 6 in Parma, Italy where the members had the occasion to: a) review the work done between spring 2016 and autumn 2017, b) participate at the field trip where they tested together with the Pillar1 team the soil navigator; c) discuss the monitoring design & sampling campaign proposed by Pillar2 team; and d) steer the 2017-2018 project activities.

At each meeting a chair person is elected. The chair person stays normally in charge for one year.

  • 2015-2016 SSC chair : Mrs Sarah Singla (farmer)
  • 2016 SSC chair : Dr Judit Berényi Üveges ( EIONET contact point)
  • 2017-2018 SSC chair: Dr Harald Mauser (EFI)
  • 2018 – 2019 to be appointed during Roundtable8 in Autumn 2018

The LANDMARK consortium would like to thank former SSC members for their collaboration:

  • Geertrui Louwagie former EEA representative [November 2015 – October 2016]
  • Sarah Singla former farmer representative [November 2015 – May 2016]
  • Judit Berényi Üveges former EIONET contact point for Hungarian NEBIH [November 2015 – December 2016]
  • Jacques Delsalle former DG Environment representative [November 2015 – June 2017]
  • Ronald Vargas former FAO- GSP representative [November 2015- January 2017]
  • Jan Cools former SOILCARE H2020 project representative [2016]